OPPIKOPPI 2012

10pm We just got to OppiKoppi

We’d been there hardly an hour and I was already covered in dust.

My partner in crime Mkay, best person to have gone to Oppi with. A veteran in the camping game.

After driving around looking for a campsite for a good 2 hours, we finally found a spot. The only mission then being setting up camp in the dark. What a struggle!  After all that the last thing I wanted to do was go out, so my first night was spent sleeping & prepping myself for the debaucherous times we had in store for us.

Day 2: Breakfast to start the day right.  Lining those stomachs before going hard…

With MalumeKoolkat.  Always the best times with him around.

The rest of the Joho crew

Not to forget these two lovely ladies, Akona and Pushie

And of course one of our besties, Chipo

340ml with Akona was the best! We pushed and shoved our way to the front for the best view.

My once white converse had now turned a shade of brown 😦

Day 3: On it early.  Spotted this guy in a babatunde hat. Gin & Tonic o’ clock with my Chipo

Me.

The uphill stuggle to get to the Redbull stage, definitely worth it though as I spent most of my time there. It had the best DJ’s playing awesome music.

Pushie & I

Made my first fire too, and a mean BBQ that night.

OppiKoppi.

Sunset in Northam, dreaded this as soon as the sun disappears the cold creeps in. Pretty sure I’ve never had to deal with such cold temperatures before.

The night we all had been looking forward to. There was so much the excitement in the air with everyone heavily anticipating seeing Diplo.

Whooooooooo!!!

Funtimes with the girls

Chipo’s very clean Bensimon wellies from all the skanking.

The crowd going nuts & Diplo killing the stage.

Alastair a boy I met, who insisted on me taking a pic of his dirty converse.

Malume

KidFonque playing the final set on our last night. We stayed up till 4 to watch him play. Definitely one of my favourite DJ’s.

Best Weekend Ever! Roll on Oppikoppi 2013!

Some of the pics taken by Mkay, Chipo and Akona check out her blog http://akonandungane.co.za/

Leave a comment